No Time To Die: Production Diary

Comments

Does anyone know why Bond movies are distributed by so many companies around the world, instead of just one? Why didn't Sony distribute the Craig movies everywhere? Also, why does Fox handle DVD/Blu-ray distribution? (Or to put it a better way: why is theatrical and home release handled by different distributors?)
  • Creasy47Creasy47 In Cuba with Natalya.Moderator
    Does anyone know why Bond movies are distributed by so many companies around the world, instead of just one? Why didn't Sony distribute the Craig movies everywhere? Also, why does Fox handle DVD/Blu-ray distribution? (Or to put it a better way: why is theatrical and home release handled by different distributors?)

I'm not an expert on it, but from my understanding, few companies have the money to be able to distribute a film worldwide on their own, so they create/seek out other distribution companies to help with this.

It's likely why Annapurna is handling the domestic distribution, because there's no way a company of that size could distribute B25 worldwide all on their own.
  • edited November 2017 Posts: 11,119

We should not exaggerate things here. There are a few exceptions yes. But on the whole Sony Pictures was the dominant global distributor:
    mH0O0oi.jpg
    YiQR3rn.jpg

Russia, China, Netherlands (hmmm, Universal ;-)), Turkey (hmmm, Warner Bros ;-)) and Norway are indeed exceptions. But on the whole Sony did everything. And I think this goes for every other big action blockbuster.
  • bondjamesbondjames You were expecting someone else?
    I'm pretty sure BondJasonBond006 said he had a role with Disney when they distributed SP in Switzerland, so I don't know if that list is entirely accurate.

it depends on who's got the deal in what country. Sony releases may be released by Universal in the Netherlands or by Sony themselves elsewhere.