No Time To Die: Production Diary

Comments

By defintion, family owned/run companies need future generations within the family to run them. That's why so many family run firms eventually sell out because either there is no next generation to take over or the next generation have no interest in the product.

I'm not an expert re EON. Who is the next generation?
  • Creasy47Creasy47 In Cuba with Natalya.Moderator
    patb wrote: »
    Selling to the highest bidder tends to be the trend. Sorry if that sounds sarcastic, selling to a lower bidder is burning money and the buyer can sell it on a profit anyway.

It's hard to see how selling to a lower bidder would be in the shareholder's interests.

I was just hoping that if they sell up, she'd value the future of the series her dad made rather than how much money she could make (sure she's got more than enough for one lifetime anyway). I know really that you're right and they would just sell to the highest bidder but the thought of Disney snatching it up and churning them out like Marvel and Star Wars turns my stomach.

It'll be quite an upsetting day for me if that happens: I can see it now - three separate new eras filming simultaneously with new actors as Bond, Q spinoffs, M spinoffs, MI6 employee spinoffs, a Blofeld prequel, DN prequel, TV shows, Bond-related films and shows on their streaming service, and more.

I don't want them taking three or four years to release a new movie every single time, but I definitely don't want an oversaturation of it all, either.
  • bondjamesbondjames You were expecting someone else?
    I can see an avenue where an expanded universe works. It just requires a little creativity and non linear thinking. Nobody is really calling for an SW type scenario and I absolutely agree that the future of Q and MP is rather limited.
  • RC7RC7
    edited February 2018 Posts: 10,512
    bondjames wrote: »