The Bond Movies & Actors I Can't Stand (Negativity Only Please)

Comments

Says the guy who has brought it up on a different thread......

Brought what up?
  • bondjamesbondjames You were expecting someone else?
    Ladies. Please.
  • my 'safe space' comment you twerp; needless to say missing the point of my barb in the process.
    bondjames wrote: »
    Ladies. Please.

Yes, this is getting a little stupid. Moving on ... I agree with the comments above about the subtleties in Craig's onscreen performances.
  • edited April 2016 Posts: 79
    Are people always subtle in their display of emotions?
  • edited April 2016 Posts: 11,189
    The point was that the emotions felt "acted" sometimes rather than genuine. I'm not an expert on acting but I have heard that subtlety usually equals a stronger performance. That seems to be the general consensus.

Personally, I do feel Dalton could sometimes lay on the dramatic acting a little too much to the point where it did feel a bit theatrical.
  • So when Dalton finds Della raped and murdered, he's meant to show restraint and subtlety? Laughable
  • edited April 2016 Posts: 4,325

That's not the point, the point is subtlety on screen does a lot for an actor because the audience can see their face on massive screens, that kind of detail in a performance is lost on stage, so you have to make you acting 'bigger' - I am an actor by the way
    So when Dalton finds Della raped and murdered, he's meant to show restraint and subtlety? Laughable

Connery does when he finds Jill and Kerim. No one has ever complained about his performance in those scenes.
    That Della scene is one that I found a bit discomfiting for Bond. I would have preferred something a bit more nuanced, like how Connery reacts to Jill or Craig to Strawberry, as has already been noted.
  • @BAIN123 Della and Felix were close friends. Why would you expect a similar reaction?