NEW 2021 UPDATES ON 'Quick Big Mi6 Bond Ranking Game': JOIN IN, FOLKS!

Comments

• ProfJoeButcherProfJoeButcher Bless your heart
    edited April 2021 Posts: 1,690
    Dwayne wrote: »

Its’ only real weaknesses – and they are significant IMO - are the mid-tier nature of the two villains, and the geo-politics of “Bond in Afghanistan.” That last issue has not aged well!

I think that element works fine. I'm no expert on the region by any means, but surely the Afghan resistance to Soviet occupation was not entirely Taliban? This always sounds to me like some kind of simplification so someone can make a "Hey, did you know Bond teamed up with al-Qaeda in the 80s?! lol" YouTube video or clickbait article.

The policy of supporting the resistance certainly made sense for the time. The wonderful "Charlie Wilson's War" (here you can see the shallowness of my background knowledge!) makes the argument that America's stupid mistake was to totally neglect the country in terms of aid after American goals were met vis-a-vis the USSR.

• BennyBenny In the shadowsAdministrator, Moderator
    Birdleson wrote: »
    I like the two villains, though Koskov should have died in that jeep.

I agree, there was no reason to keep him alive till the end. Having the jeep explode would've been a satisfying demise for Koskov.
  • ProfJoeButcherProfJoeButcher Bless your heart
    I'm surprised to see love in here for the showdown with Whitaker. It's a highlight for me too, but I always thought it was generally considered one of the bad bits, especially by folks not completely in love with the film as a whole.
  • GoldenGunGoldenGun Per ora e per il momento che verrà
    Dwayne wrote: »

Its’ only real weaknesses – and they are significant IMO - are the mid-tier nature of the two villains, and the geo-politics of “Bond in Afghanistan.” That last issue has not aged well!