NTTD - Official Trailer Discussion Thread - First trailer OUT NOW (MINOR SPOILERS ALLOWED)

Comments

ggl007 wrote: »
    Univex wrote: »
    Know anything, @ggl007? Any info in the wind or in the backchannels of Bond-fan-community intelligence? :)
    Friday, but this is not official.

Poster and teaser in less than 48 hours: that seems to be sure now... unless something happened. :D Yes, sorry, I know that's vague but who would put his hand on fire with show bussiness? 8-} I guess wait and see is the best option...

Wish I could get excited over the poster but it's just going to be another boring photoshopped shot of Bond standing with a gun in front of a plain or minimalist background isn't it.

If you're hoping for an elaborately illustrated poster which is very much a throwback to the posters of the 60's-80's, then you're bound to be disappointed. As a graphic designer myself I'm always interested to see how the poster(s) look like, but there's no denying that movie posters have a tendency to be a bit…predictable.

Minimalism seems to be the way things are now. Most posters these days rely on using two contrasting colours and a straightforward design - probably so the image can be easily manipulated into banner form later on too. Makes sense from that perspective but you're absolutely right; it's not very exciting.

Indeed, how the design can be applied to various formats and mediums is always something the designers will have to take into consideration. I'm sure that there are plenty of great poster drafts/ideas that never see the light of day because they're not easy enough to adjust to all formats – or for other practical reasons can't be used. Even font choices have to be practical, as the title and additional text must be adapted for a number of different languages.
  • edited October 2019 Posts: 12,837
    Denbigh wrote: »