NO TIME TO DIE (2021) - Discuss Hans Zimmer's Score

Comments

• phantomvicesphantomvices Mother Base
    edited September 2021 Posts: 469
    AgentM72 wrote: »
    [Major film music dork post alert]

I'm really, really trying not to let my own hype run away with itself but I just have to say how much I've really loved all these little tidbits and samples we've heard so far.

I'm cautiously optimistic that Zimmer's NTTD is not only going to be exactly the score I've hoped to get for this film, but the Bond score I've been dreaming of for many, many years now. I really did like (and at times love) Newman's efforts on the last two films, but something about them left me a little wanting. Whereas this just...right from the first listens, feels like it's delivering.

And delivering on a complicated "hope"/expectation, for me personally.

It's like...the classic John Barry sound and vibe, check. The David Arnold influence, check. The Hans Zimmer execution, subversion and production quality, check. The constant feeling of living within very-and-only-Bond harmonies, check. The emotional ambience that feels distinctly modern but also not out of place for a 60s Barry score, check. The upbeat dramatic and action cues that have drive, energy, intrigue, and scream Bond.

TL;DR This stuff sounds terrific.

Hard agree with all of this. Initially, coming off Newman's rather generic soundtrack that was itself inspired by ZImmer's 2010s era work, I was really afraid that Zimmer would go generic himself and do a cookie-cutter 2010s action movie soundtrack. I loved ZImmer's old work, especially the works where he had a certain theme he could play off of such as in the Lion King, which is where I think he really shines, but when he doesn't really have a certain strong theme or influence his work can sound very stock and generic.