Birding Bond

Comments

• Agent_99Agent_99 enjoys a spirited ride as much as the next girl
    Joan Baez's nightingale:

Another artist I've had the great pleasure of seeing live.
  • j_w_pepperj_w_pepper Born on the bayou. I can still hear my old hound dog barkin'.
    This one: made it to No. 9 on the Billboard charts when I was an exchange student in Illinois in 1974/75. Still love it.
  • RichardTheBruceRichardTheBruce I'm motivated by my Duty.
    edited October 2017 Posts: 13,032
    Two great, um, songbirds.
    Gracias a la Vida, Joan Baez, 1974.
    "El Rossinyol"fc71b0f9d921ba7d4be78dbc8a9839a3a812df8b

Rossinyol que vas a França, Rossinyol,
    encomana'm a la mare, Rossinyol,
    d'un bell bocatge Rossinyol, d'un vol.

Encomana'm a la mare, Rossinyol,
    i a mon pare no pas gaire, Rossinyol,
    d'un bell bocatge, Rossinyol, d'un vol.

A mon pare no pas gaire, Rossinyol,
    perquè a un pastor me n’ha dada, Rossinyol,

Perquè a un pastor me n’ha dada, Rossinyol,
    que em fa guardar la ramada, Rossinyol,

"The Nightingale"

Nightingale, that flies to France, Nightingale,
    give my love to my mother, Nightingale,
    from a beautiful grove, Nightingale, in one flight.

Please give my love to my mother, Nightingale,
    but not much to my father, Nightingale,

For he imposed me to marry, Nightingale,
    giving me to a shepherd, Nightingale,

He makes me guard the flock, Nightingale,
    and I have lost the bellwether, Nightingale,

Upbeat, groovy tune from Carole King. Respecting the copyright, I've just excerpted the uplifting bird notions.
    Wrap Around Joy, Carole King, 1974.
    "Nightingale"R-1602932-1358218992-3328.jpeg.jpg
    Nightingale, Nightingale, she sails away upon a sea of song
    Nightingale, she serenades his lonely, lonely life along
    When his tired voice is broken
    His golden hope is gone
    She makes a lost soul's simple longing
    somehow not so wrong
    Nightingale, Nightingale...