SPECTRE: It grossed $880 Million Worldwide (..and 2015 was the biggest box office year so far)

Comments

• bondjamesbondjames You were expecting someone else?
    True, but there are a lot of choices this Thanksgiving stateside, which could pull the casual fan. We'll have to see, but I think we'll have a more than 13% drop this time.
    bondjames wrote: »
    I'm really not an expert on this, will the bad reviews in the US hurt the BO?
    I've heard of movies that were short of buried by critics. This worries me quite a bit.

It will hurt the 3rd week definitely. I'm sure of it. 1st and 2nd week are a lock due to the pent up demand post-SF and the fact that there's nothing out there to compete with it at the moment.

However by week 3 this film has to walk on its own. Of course people like myself and all the other rabid Bond fans will be back by then to see it again, but that's not going to be enough. Negative reviews will, by week 3, possibly impact the casual fan, who may or may not have gone to see it (and who may be influenced by the negative talk).

SF only fell 13% in weekend 3 box office which was insanely good. SP will probably have a more dramatic 3rd week drop. Having said that, as I mentioned a few pages back, if it makes enough in weeks 1 (I'm still betting it's $100m despite poor reviews) and week 2 (as long as it's a less than 55% drop) we should still have a slim shot at beating SF's US gross or possibly coming close to it (around $290m) due to ticket prices, IMAX and other factors.