(12345x8)+5=98765
    (123456x8)+6=987654
    (1234567x8)+7=9876543
    (12345678x8)+8=98765432
    (123456789x8)+9=987654321
  • DarthDimiDarthDimi Behind you!Moderator
    edited April 2015 Posts: 23,449
    Cool sequence, @Thunderfinger! :-)

Math is beautiful. Like most of us, I guess, I spent my teenage years receiving intense mathematical training and while I didn't entirely resent that, I certainly wasn't all jazzed about it either. ;-)

But as years went by and math became more and more important during my college years and then of course in my profession, I started seeing the beauty of it all. When 12 year old me was told that math is the ultimate language of the cosmos, I frankly couldn't have cared less. Now it's almost a religion to me. B-)

That said, I'm no expert...
  • SandySandy Somewhere in Europe
    Math is beautiful! I too had decent training in mathematics, mostly during my Uni years. If I had to solve some of the things I did 10 years ago I bet I wouldn't be able to (little training) but back then it was thrilling!
  • ThunderfingerThunderfinger Das Boot Hill
    One thing that really bugs me-astronomers believe all intelligent beings out there will know the decimal system. Why exactly?
  • CommanderRossCommanderRoss The bottom of a pitch lake in Eastern Trinidad, place called La Brea
    probably because we haven't been creative enough to find something similar. It's the same reasoning as why they're looking for water on other planets. We think life can be only sustained if there's water, because we haven't seen/measured anything else.

Must say that's a really cool list you posted. Math is indeed beautiful. I should've been less stubborn in the past. I really rocked at it. until I went wrong.
    You went wrong, @CommanderRoss? :D Care to explain? ;-)