"Just One More Thing..." - The COLUMBO Discussion Thread

Comments

• Birdleson wrote: »
    When I first came on these boards, I was surprised that COLUMBO was so well known outside of the US. As I've mentioned before, I grew up with COLUMBO in America; I was six when the pilot ran, and, as my mother was a murder mystery fanatic and those were the days of one television per household, I saw most every installment up until the end of the late '70s, when, as a high school student, I pretty much abandoned television aside from SNL (when it was raw and dangerous) and a few sporadic specials or late night fare. But I felt like Falk's Columbo was one of those classic characters that I knew personally. When was it first aired in the UK?

I think it was on in the 70s in the UK. I remember it was always on the BBC in the afternoons in the 1990s. I'd never really watched it, and ended up watching The Conspirators episode, and have been a Columbo fan ever since.
  • Fire_and_Ice_ReturnsFire_and_Ice_Returns I am trying to get away from this mountan!
    Gerard wrote: »
    Didn't think it existed, but it does... in France :

ukhxbeSJzWJrcbsVYi9SYHC9ob0.jpg

Always happy to see sexy Janeway, a Star Trek reference.
  • thedovethedove hiding in the Greek underworld
    Mrs. Columbo is just dreadful. I watched it on one of the Columbo DVD sets and while I watched the whole thing, it was more like not taking my eyes off the car accident.

How this got the greenlight I will never know. I heard that NBC wanted Columbo back the producers didn't so NBC decided to make up Mrs Columbo instead. The episode had a ventriloquist and it was just dire.
  • edited March 2020 Posts: 17,279
    thedove wrote: »
    Mrs. Columbo is just dreadful. I watched it on one of the Columbo DVD sets and while I watched the whole thing, it was more like not taking my eyes off the car accident.