OJ Simpson "The trial of the century"

IGotTheMessageIGotTheMessage United States
You don't need me to tell you much about it. It is probably the single most famous criminal trial in American history. It captivated the nation like no other case before it, nor since and sharply divided Americans at the time.

If you were alive at the time and old enough to understand what was going on, what are your memories of the trial? What do you think of it today?

Discuss...

Comments

• DragonpolDragonpol https://thebondologistblog.blogspot.com
    Well, like you I have an interest in true crime and criminal trials. In fact, I studied Law at Masters level for two years.

I'm not fully up to speed with this case in particular as I'm much more familiar with UK law and criminal trials.

That said, I've heard from a friend that the reason Simpson got off the murder rap was because the glove used in the double stabbing had shrunk after it had been stored as a piece of evidence. Hence, it was too small to fit Simpson's hand. Ironically, this sounds a tad like the Cinderella story more than a serious criminal "trial of the century".

I think Simpson was later successfully sued civilly where the burden of proof is much lower of course. He was later jailed for a violent armed robbery and is still serving time for that.

On a personal level I think of course that he's guilty as sin of that double murder.
    I had no interest in it whatsoever.
    When I was a kid, Simpson was one of the top (American) football stars of his day, and a celebrity off the field. He didn't just fade away once his playing days ended and became an actor and never really left the spotlight.

It was a shock when the Bronco chase happened, I guess because of his status prior to that. But once everything came down it seemed like, yeah, it was possible. It was one of those cases where somebody you thought had it all and how could they do that?