The Legal Issues (and Criminal Justice) Discussion Thread

DragonpolDragonpol https://thebondologistblog.blogspot.com
edited January 16 in General Discussion Posts: 17,728
I thought I would create a new thread on one of my interests outside of all things James Bond - the field of Law. As some of you may know I have a Masters degree in Law (a two year Law conversion course) and from that my interest blossomed from there. I am sadly not a Law practitioner as yet but I retain the interest in current and historical legal issues.

So this thread is the place to discuss Legal Issues of the past or present on any area of UK law (or if you prefer US law) and beyond.

Let's get the ball rolling...

[18 March 2016 Thread Update]:

I've amended the thread title to include Criminal Justice as part of the thread's ambit so that members can give their thoughts or issue their criticisms or indeed praise of the criminal justice system in the UK and further afield. This includes the decisions of the courts in criminal cases, the penal system, criminal law legislation and case law and new proposals for reform of the criminal law by the UK Government of the day or other governments around the world.

Comments

• ThunderfingerThunderfinger Das Boot Hill
    Is there no air in this ball? Everyone is happy with the legal system?
  • DarthDimiDarthDimi Behind you!Moderator
    Very well, I'll get going.

Aren't we giving criminals too many rights? What's wrong with a more brutal system of punishment? Crime rates keep rising yet the moral orthodoxy keeps claiming our current system works far better than some of the older ones.
    You want sharia?
  • DragonpolDragonpol https://thebondologistblog.blogspot.com
    You want sharia?

Or fascism? A return to law and order and capital punishment?

I don't think personally that the threat of capital punishment ever stopped anyone committing a crime. I'm opposed to its reintroduction to the UK.