Were there ever secret agents "licensed to kill" in real-life?

2»

Comments

• 4EverBonded4EverBonded the Ballrooms of Mars
    Wow. Boy, are things different in the U.S. Not that I'm an expert or have any inside information.
    But this is interesting to me, to learn more about the UK restrictions.
  • 0BradyM0Bondfanatic70BradyM0Bondfanatic7 Quantum Floral Arrangements: "We Have Petals Everywhere"
    I also believe that you need something like 12 years of trusted service to get half the privileges Americans would.
  • edited April 2013 Posts: 14,835
    In the first volume of Queen&Country, the fact that operatives do NOT have the right to carry firearms in the UK is actually central to the point, when the operative (and heroin of the series) Tara Chace is targeted by the Russian mafia for killing a Russian general. Even though there is a bounty on her head, her bosses at MI6 and rivals at MI5 are adamant that she should remain unarmed as the law requires. The fact that she does kill as part of her job even gives weight to their argument: they don't want a potentially trigger-happy target on the open in London.
  • Ludovico wrote:
    I don't remember Fleming mentioning it, but it makes sense that they cannot. A scene like the one in DN, when Bond opens the door of his apartment holding his PPK, would be impossible in real life. Well, not impossible, but he would be doing something illegal.

I'm afraid that's incorrect @Ludovico. Semi-automatic pistols such as the Walther PPK were perfectly legal in the UK, to anyone over the age of 17 and holding a licence, until 1997.

Even since the ban on firearms in 1997, someone like Bond would almost certainly still be entitled to carry one in the UK (as he does in Skyfall) as a 'Personal Protection Weapon'
    Wow. Boy, are things different in the U.S. Not that I'm an expert or have any inside information.
    But this is interesting to me, to learn more about the UK restrictions.