Favourite line from Judi Dench

13»

Comments

• MrBondMrBond Station S
    I belive that she plays two different characthers who by some coincidence have the same looks and the same employment ;)
  • Someone on TV Tropes said it best, on Judi and my favorite line in CR: She delivered the finest ever "Do not, do not, DO! NOT!, EFF WITH ME!" voice when she threatened to kill James on his next uttered syllable.

I can only dream to have such a presence. Especially at work. ;)
    DarthDimi wrote:
    Basically all her lines in the following dialogue. How they are written, how they are delivered: pure gold!!

M: You don't like me, Bond. You don't like my methods. You think I'm an accountant, a bean counter more interested in my numbers than your instincts.
    Bond: The thought had occurred to me.
    M: Good. Because I think you're a sexist, misogynist dinosaur. A relic of the Cold War, whose boyish charms, though lost on me, obviously appealed to that young girl I sent out to evaluate you.
    Bond: Point taken.
    M: Not quite, 007. If you think I don't have the balls to send a man out to die, your instincts are dead wrong. I've no compunction about sending you to your death. But I won't do it on a whim. Even with your cavalier attitude towards life. I want you to find GoldenEye, find out who took and what they plan to do with it, and stop it. And if you should come across Ourumov, guilty or not, I don't want you running off on some vendetta. Avenging Alec Trevelyan will not bring him back.
    Bond: You didn't get him killed.
    M: Neither did you. Don't make it personal.
    Bond: Never. [turns to leave]
    M: Bond.
    [Bond stop and turns to her]
    M: Come back alive.

I love this scene, but I feel the 'come back alive' line was a mistake. It softened her too much but its understandable that they didn't want M to come across like a total icy super-bitch.