Who should/could be a Bond actor?

Comments

• talos7talos7 New Orleans
    No.
  • doubleoegodoubleoego #LightWork
    vzok wrote: »
    It’s also the success of Black Panther that is making them think once more about a black 007

I've been saying for 4 years here that it's because of black panther that we don't need a black James Bond and everything I alluded to has come to pass. Bond's whiteness is rooted in what the character stands for and what he represents and part of that representation is the lingering remnants of what was once a major super power. Silva himself touches on this in SF. You now legit change his race, you end up fundamentally changing who and what the character is.

Black Panther is based on what historical African individuals actualy were prior to European slave trade and colonialism. Where Royalty, spirituality and science co-existed in Africa; education subjects like, astronomy, engineering, phylosophy etc; you had to go to Africa to learn and study such topics and Lee and Kirby in the midst of the civil rights movement made the bold move to create and tell stories of a character that embodied a people that once was during a time where for centuries they had now been oppressed and faced insane social injustice. Black Panther is a character that embodied(s) a rich and proud history for the black community across the diaspora and if fairly realised like other protagonists in film; top actors and talent, top production, big enough budget there wouldn't be a need for an aggressive and on going outcry from a number of people hailing from all groups for there to be a racial swap for a well known and popular character; in this case James Bond.