Are the guns... real?

edited June 2011 in Bond Movies Posts: 94
Hi. I have just thought of something interesting(at least for me:-) ). We all known that UK have some problem (rather gov.) with psychic and guns are banned (even I just read something about a guy who was accused of dangerous weapon paragraph, because he get the bread knife with his meal....) - are they still using real guns at studio in UK?

Or just filming sequences in other countries and using the air guns in UK (funny - but I saw the poster with Bond and air gun/BB gun - old series probably from 70s/80s )...

And - I known it may look like 'stupid' question but how do they do shooting sequences? With blank ammo, computers, or real ammo?

Comments

I'm pretty sure that during the film shooting, the guns have blank rounds. Of course, I'm no expert, but this seems to be the majority of what I've heard.
  • saunderssaunders Living in a world of avarice and deceit
    edited June 2011 Posts: 987
    Apparently the James Bond films use real weapons that have been converted to only firing blank rounds, according to the armourer for GE, using the standard blank firing replica pistols would still be obviously unauthentic looking to those with a working knowledge of firearms. The UK gun laws are amongst the most draconian in the world but special dispensation is made for prop weapons used in film, TV and theater productions provided it is carefully controlled by registered experts.