Which American Gangsters were the Spang Brothers in Fleming's Diamonds Are Forever (1956) based on?

DragonpolDragonpol https://thebondologistblog.blogspot.com
edited December 2016 in Literary 007 Posts: 17,728
Anyone have any ideas on this? I'm thinking of real-world American (or indeed British) gangsters here specifically who could have influenced Ian Fleming to create the Spang Brothers of the Spangled Mob in Diamonds Are Forever (1956)? I know for instance that there was a British gangster of the 1950s and 60s called Jack Spot (I have a book on him) and that the Spangs' successor as leader of the Spangled Mob was called Jack Strap as seen in the Goldfinger (1959) novel. He is shot by Auric Goldfinger near the end of the novel.

I'm not a big expert on gangsters, though I am learning.

I'd be grateful to hear some views on this one.

Comments

Owney Madden could be a possibility. He was British but he became a gangster in New York and ran the Cotton Club during Prohibition. I'm actually reading DAF now so I might come up with more ideas once I finish the book.
  • DragonpolDragonpol https://thebondologistblog.blogspot.com
    edited June 2014 Posts: 17,728
    johntitor1 wrote:
    Owney Madden could be a possibility. He was British but he became a gangster in New York and ran the Cotton Club during Prohibition. I'm actually reading DAF now so I might come up with more ideas once I finish the book.

Thanks, I'll look into him; much appreciated @johntitor1.
    Hypothesis:how about the Crays? Sure they were British not American, but still.
    Ludovico wrote:

They were largely unknown until the early 60's. I think they were just small time hoods during the period that Fleming wrote DAF.
    Ludovico wrote:

They were largely unknown until the early 60's. I think they were just small time hoods during the period that Fleming wrote DAF.

Fleming may have heard about them in any case. Will need to read more.
    Ludovico wrote:
    Ludovico wrote: